In some countries young people are encouraged to travel or work for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

Nowadays, students are guided to take a yearly break after their primary education, and spend that time in travel or gaining work exprience. This trend has several benefits such as an opportunity to reflect on decisions and financial gains, and certain drawbacks like increased drive to discontinue further education and loss of connection with the curriculum. Firstly, motivating students to travel or work can provide them sufficient time to think critically regarding their career goals. Pursuing a job which is relevant to the desired course a student wish to complete will provide him /her practical aspects, salary competencies andd other challenges related to that sector. As a result, such experiences can assist an individual in carefully analysing their decisions and implement them. Moreover, following this approach can help students improve their financial state. Universities and other academic institution charge high tuition fees which can become a barrier to education. However, students can overcome this obstacle by earning and saving money by working. Consequently, students can pay tuition fees through their saving earned through their daily wages. Nevertheless, this development can lead to several downsides. One of the various disadvantage is losing touch with the academic curriculum. In order to improve knowledge or skill in any profession or domain, practicing it regularly can develop skills or abilities of an individual. Therefore, if a student goes on a year long travel or work-related break, he/she will eventually forget the foundational knowledge acquired in school. As a result, the individual will struggle to understand or comprehend topics taught in the university. In addition to that, students can lose interest in achieving further qualifications. Going on a vacation or doing a job can make an individual bound to comfortable routine which be difficult to resist. Consequently, people continue doing the same job or pursue their interest of travelling, and not complete education in future. In conclusion, there are not only advantages of taking yearly break before completing further education such as recieveing ample amount of time for self-reflection to make apprioriate career decision and improving economic condition, but also disadvantages like loss of contact with academic knowledge and reduced will to continue further education.