The rise of social media has affected personal relationship and society as a while. Do the advantages of using social media to communicate outweigh the disadvantages?

The growth of social media has affected individual connection and community for a short time. There might be both advantages and disadvantages of using social media to communicate, but I believe it has more benefits. The main advantage is that many people nowadays take technology as a daily use, considering the increase of technology making it much easier for people to use social media to communicate with each other. People can just sit on their couch at home and chat with their long distance friends, or even have a video call with each other. They can also make a new friend from another country with social media such as Instagram, Tiktok, or from a game platform that everyone on this earth uses like Roblox, Valorant, and many more video games. This also can make people learn a new language and culture from their friends abroad, so they can gain a lot of new things. For instance, a lot of youngsters in Indonesia got new friends from online games, and because of that, they can have a lot of relation, and even speak other languages fluently. On the other hand, there are some downsides. Some individuals might feel less comfortable with online communication, because they can more express their feelings face to face, rather than chatting. And some people may also have a mental issue because of lack of awareness of media social use. For example, there are some people who get bullied in social media, they post a video of themself, and a lot of netizens leave awful comments, and that could make them triggered by the bad comments. They might feel insecure because of that, or even get a serious mental issue such as anxiety, depression, and can even cause bipolar in any cases. Some of them might feel unworthy to be alive, and choose suicide instead. In conclusion, social media sometimes can be the best choice to communicate or might be the reason for someone to end their life. In the end, if individuals choose to raise their awareness to use social media, there might be a lot of people that can feel safe and comfortable with online communication.