In some societies, sports and entertainment figures are more valued than professionals such as doctors and teachers. Why is this case, and do you consider it a positive or negative trend?

The trend to value sports and entertainment characters over professionals in specific fields, like education or healthcare has gained in popularity among many socities. This essay attempts to delve into the root causes of the problem and from my perspective, the matter is a net negative. First and foremost, there are compelling reasons of the widespread preference for sports and entertainment figures. Chief among these is the glamorous fame and success of careers in such industries. Unlike doctors or teachers whose influences and power are limited within the range of hospitals or classes, those working with performative sectors can more conveniently gain publicity and admiration, through communicative mediums like social media, and common interests in entertainment. Such long-lasting impact can hold fascination for many individuals, especially the youth that passionately desire the need to establish themselves. Furthermore, the celebrity-driven society equates financial success and popularity with value, which leads to an undervaluation of more meaningful professions. I contend that the tendency to bias towards sports and entertainment celebrities is detrimental, particularly in terms of personal and societal perspective. For the former, the younger generations may be subject to inappopriate beliefs and ideals. As fortune and stardom are idolized, they are tempted to pursue such careers, while often ignoring the time and money in the pursuit of becoming an athlete or an artist. This ignorance can also lead to the less appreciation for specialists, who however, devote virtually to the foundation and prosperity of society, namely education and healthcare. If people fail to recognize to potential in these professions, critical sectors may suffer a lack of support to progress and contribute. Therefore, over time, the far-reaching consequences on social development and the quality of living under the partial favouritism for prominent figures, can occur intensely. In conclusion, the inclination to give favouritism to performative individuals over oracles at daily sectors is attributed to the sparkling and promosing achievements for the general, and should be considered a negative development.