Some people think learning history in school is important. Others think learning subjects more relevant to life is important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The ongoing debate surrounding school subjects has given rise to two distinct perspectives. One side argues that studying history is better, while the other side insists that subjects directly linked to life offer a more viable solution. This essay will carefully analyse both positions before presenting a well-reasoned personal opinion. It is justified for some to favour the view that history is philosophy, which students can benefit in all aspects of life. Firstly, history is part of the culture of a country or a geographical region. Teaching history enhances students ’ strong sense of cultural identity and unity. Secondly, history education fosters cross-cultural exchange and broadens their horizon, allowing them to embrace other cultures. Last but not least, it is looking through a historical angle that students become more open-minded and tolerant on ideas different from their own, enhancing cross-cultural awareness and global citizenship. Some others hold the opinion that real-life scenario is a test that students need to prepare. This is because schools traditionally fail to address the problems that adapt students to the changing job market. In order to do that, school curricula should shift focus from rudimentary teaching to creative programs on applied science that can exercise logical thinking, rational attitude and analytical skills. These new areas born with artificial technology and higher techniques are the most valuable in demand to invest funding and conduct research. Students who are dedicated in these relevant subjects are conducive to the advancement of science and technology. In conclusion, I believe that both sides of the argument are reasonable. On balance, I firmly claim that studying history is beneficial and has equal importance in contributing to a country. After all, the cultural values of a nation cannot be measured and are getting outdated in the new era. It is the accumulation of years that makes it priceless.