Nowadays, more people communicate through social networking sites rather than face-to-face. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, communication media has evolved significantly. Many people prefer to interact through social media over face-to-face dialogue. While this change has improved global networking and trade, it also comes with several drawbacks, such as emotional detachment. This essay outlines both the advantages and disadvantages of social networking sites as a reliable means of communication. One of the major advantages of social media is that it enables global communication without any geographical barriers. With social media, individuals can network with a variety of people, namely foreigners, celebrities or entrepreneurs, and build personal as well as professional relationship with them. For instance, many students now secure international internship opportunities through social networking sites, such as LinkedIn. Furthermore, international trade relations can be expanded through online communication. Currently, many of the multinational companies communicate through e-mail and virtual platforms, which has reduced the challenges of commute. As a result, nation’s economy can be benefitted. Conversely, with increased reliance on social media, emotional commitment between individuals has been reduced. With face-to-face communication, people not only shared information but also build an emotional attachment. However, online networking sites have taken away the space for personal bonding. For example, the increasing social isolation seen among teenagers, due to their dependence on virtual media, has become a growing concern. Moreover, cybersecurity is highly vulnerable today as several imposters exist. With cutting-edge technology, there is a constant threat of unethical online users, who are involved in identity theft or online financial scams. Therefore, it is evident that online communication platforms are a double-edged sword. In conclusion, albeit social networking sites warrant global connections and economic development, cybersecurity is a global challenge. A socially aware and ethically serving society can ensure the judicious use of online media for communication. In addition, young individuals should be closely monitored to prevent both behavioural and social impacts.