In many countries, students are encouraged to choose a university major based on future job prospects rather than their personal interests. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

Students are encouraged to select a field of study, by considering career prospects instead of personal interests. This essay acknowledges that it is a positive development. The arguments supporting the view that this tendency is a positive development will be presented in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, selecting a field of study in university by considering job opportunities can enable students to get a career more easily. In addition, it can lead to being financially provided and motivated. For example, many students who graduated in accounting are not only able to be employed quickly due to the needs of the society but also are able to support themselves financially. These can also motivate them even more than an interest in a career. As a consequence, choosing a university field based on career opportunities should be prioritised. On the other hand, although choosing a discipline in the university based on personal interests allows students to be satisfied at first, they may become depressed, and this may even lead to changing their field when they fail to find a job. That is why most societies guide students to consider the future of the job instead of just their eagerness. To conclude, this essay supports the view that learners must consider job opportunity importance while choosing a field of study during their education. Therefore, neglecting this issue may cause complications in the future, such as financial constraints. It is recommended that societies guide students and make them aware of job prospects from the first grades in order not to consider personal interest as the only factor while choosing a field of study at university.