“The use of mobile phones and computers for communication has affected our reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?”

Nowadays, with the widespread usage of digital devices such as smartphones and computers, people's reading and writing have been affected to a great extent. I strongly support this fact but they can influence our skill both in a beneficial or detrimental way. On the plus side, when using computers for reading, we are usually able to open multiple documents and switch between them in order to find the topics we are looking for. Moreover, we can search in a document for keywords and save time on reading rather than just finding where to read in long documents. On the writing side, typing a passage is always more readable and faster to edit and polish as it is no longer dependent of handwriting, which is totally different in people. In our technology-driven life, the speed of typing with phones or laptops is much faster than writing especially in young generation. On the other hand, reading on screens for too long will lead to dry eyes and exacerbate the visual problems. For example, after the COVID pandemic, I had to wear glasses due to staring at the screen for hours in order to pass my university courses. Furthermore, autocorrection features in most of the application can undermine people's spelling skills as they will be overreliant to AI to correct the spelling mistakes. There are many people who struggle to write words on paper even with high level of education. Last but not least, reading and writing on phones or computers can be distracting as we get notifications or emails and lose our concentration and focus which might reduce the attention span as well. In conclusion, I completely agree that digital devices influenced the way we used to read or write but if we can use these devices correctly, their benefits will outweigh their disadvantages.