In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Today many countries around the globe, customers can go to a super shop and buy variety types of food produced in different parts of the world. Although it has brings some drawbacks to the customers, but I believe, it’s a positive development for the consumer as they can taste variety types of food and fulfill their dietary needs. One significant benefit of importing goods, the customer can taste variety types of food and fulfill their dietary needs. For example, olive oil is the amongst healthiest oil that can be used to cook food. It helps to reduce high blood pressure, high bad cholesterol, inflammation in the body, thereby prevent heart related issues, like stroke. Furthermore, consumers can taste tasty fruits, like apple, dates, orange, avocado, etc., which are not grown in Bangladesh because of the environment. As a customer, we have the option to taste theses fruits along with the vitamins, minerals and fiber we intake whenever we eat fruits in a raw form, which resulting a healthier and longer life. On the other hand, importing the same food that is grown in the home country, may discourage the producer to grow it again. As a country, we become dependent on other countries. For instance, In Bangladesh, majority of onion need, have to fulfill by importing it from other countries. If the production is hampered of the food that we are importing, it will increase the price of imported goods. Means that consumer have to pay higher price for those food. To sum up, for some situations customer have to pay higher price for the product, but the opportunity to taste variety types of food which will fulfill our dietary needs can be super beneficial, and also reduce health hazard. The government have to import the goods in a way that it would not affect the production local food.