Some people think that competition at work, at school, and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many people assume that competition in their daily life, whether at work or at school, is a good thing, while some others argue that cooperation is more important. This essay will discuss both points of view and in the concluding paragraph I will include my personal stance regarding the issue. Firstly, competition, especially the healthy one, can help to motivate individuals to do their best effort. Humans can be fueled by the presence of competitors since most people do not like to lose. In addition to that, the best people in the field are going to show up and if the systems are merit enough, those people will get the acknowledgment they deserve, such as the promotion, good grades, and success. Therefore, competition is still considered to be a positive habit that happens in people ’s lives. On the other hand, many other people think that competing against each other will bring drawbacks. Consequently, people need to promote cooperation more on a daily basis. No one is perfect, so with teamwork, people can cover each other’s weaknesses in order to achieve something. Cooperation will also shape a better environment because individuals depend on one another to achieve success. Hence, some individuals see cooperation as a better approach than competition. However, both competition and cooperation also have their negative impacts. For example, too much competition could lead to a toxic environment since everyone’s busy trying to achieve their personal goals, as well as excessive cooperation could potentially create free-riders. In conclusion, I agree that competition is beneficial for some people because it brings motivation for them to do their best efforts. At the same time, I also believe that cooperation has advantages as people need each other to achieve goals efficiently.