Modern technology has increased surveillance in society. Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

Undoubtedly, the contemporary advancements in surveillance, owing to the modern technology, have benefited the people tremendously. Cutting-edge monitoring devices ensure public safety and reduce the crime rate. However, personal information and privacy are compromised due to this. Considering the benefits of digital surveillance, I strongly believe that their advantages outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, proponents of technology-assisted surveillance argue that it helps in fostering social harmony by improving personal safety and lowering crime rates. Digital monitoring can safeguard public, especially the children and the elderly. For instance, parents can monitor their children at homes, when they are left under the care of a third party, by a surveillance camera, and thereby ensure their safety. Furthermore, it can be used for early detection and tracking of crimes. A car theft or kidnapping can be easily traced by following the digital footprints of the vehicle involved from the surveillance cameras installed at the traffic signals. Therefore, it can be justified that digital surveillance is beneficial for society. On the other hand, critics contend that cybersurveillance is a breach of privacy and personal details. Many a times, personal attributes, such as photographs and individual preferences, may be accessed without one’s consent in the name of cybersecurity. For example, the advertisement pop-ups, when visiting a website, often hold the data related to a recent web browsing. Hence, monitoring can have negative consequences in public domain. In conclusion, although privacy and personal details may be at stake, ensuring public safety is paramount. Thus, I believe that the merits of digital surveillance outweigh their demerits. Nevertheless, governments should enforce strict regulations on cybersecurity and surveillance to protect personal integrity.