Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters ( such as food, clothes and entertainment ) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes, other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that effect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion:

It is believed by a group of people that permitting youngsters to make decisions in their daily lives can develop a sense of selfishness in society. In contrast, others argue that children should be allowed to make their own choices. I believe that children should be allowed to make their own decisions, but it should be monitored by guardians constantly. Both views and my argument are discussed further in this essay. On one hand, there are many reasons why others think that independence in making decisions will lead to a selfish future generation. To begin with, they opine that toddlers will not think of any other person. From childhood, they will learn to think about themselves only. A child can be spoiled, for instance, they will not give respect to older people, or will not obey rules and regulations in future. moreover, sometimes obeying commands is also necessary to shape children's personality in a good way. By following orders from the elderly makes a person kind and gentleman. On the other hand, those who are in favour of independence of choice to children give their reasons as follows. The first reason is that they can learn decision-making skills from childhood. Which could be a useful trait for their career development. Also, they can learn to deal with confusion. Secondly, selecting their topic of interest allows children to grow. Hence, children can be successful, if they are allowed to do whatever they want. To conclude, I would reiterate my belief that while children should be allowed to make decisions like what to wear and eat, they should be monitored by their guardians. Which is not only good for a child's personal development, but also for society.