Many manufacturd food and drinks contain high levels of sugar,which causes many health problems.Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often stated that many processed foods and drinks have a lot of sugar. Consuming these products can cause physical health issues. Increasing the price of these goods encourages individuals to purchase less frequently. I disagree with this view because this solution is temporary, and it can cause inflation, although as a short-term solution should be taken into account. There is some truth in the argument that increasing prices prevents people from buying sugary goods. Most individuals purchase these commodities because they are cheap and delicious. They simply ignore their well-being for a moment of joy. If the government increases the price of these products, people will buy them less frequently. For example, in Mexico, this method worked. The government put a high tax on sugar. The consumption of sugar and sugary products dropped by 50%. However, I believe that increasing prices is a temporary solution. If the government increases the price of sugary products, the price of other products will probably increase. So, it can cause inflation, and it violates the rule of the free market. In addition, these kinds of solutions are temporary because after a while, inflation makes the government increase salaries. Consequently, people will be able to buy these goods at a new price. On the other hand, increasing prices can damage public trust in the long term. They will worry about new prices every day. Ultimately, it can cause large protests. To sum up, while it is partly true that increasing prices are effective for a while, I would argue that it can cause inflation and damage public trust.