IELTS (Problem/Solution) In recent years, many people have developed health problems due to leading highly sedentary lifestyles. What problems can arise from a lack of physical activity? What steps can be taken to encourage people to become more active?

The number of people, who have suffered from an inactive lifestyle in the past few decades, has increased. I believe exploring the causes of this problem can assist in finding suitable solutions to resolve it. Lack of physical activity can lead to several health problems. One major issue could be obesity, which is directly associated with an inactive lifestyle and sedentary behaviour. This also accounts for heart diseases, high blood pressure and lack of confidence. To tackle the issue, governments and authorities can implement schemes such as cycle to work and public gyms, which are accessible and affordable for everyone, to encourage individuals to have some exercise and burn out some calories. Another perceived problem could be mental issues. This group of people usually experience stress, anxiety and low mood. These functional problems can explain why they are feeling alone and isolated from society. However, these mental issues can be resolved by raising public awareness regarding the undeniable problems developed due to a sedentary lifestyle. Educational authorities play a vital role, as well as parents and society. They should be encouraged and educated about the benefits of an active lifestyle and how it can positively impact their lives. To conclude, even though having an inactive and sedentary lifestyle contributes to obesity and mental problems, governments and society can remedy the situation. In my opinion, running innovative and effective plans and educating the society in terms of the beneficial effects of an active life are steps in the right direction.