The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people advocate to have a shorter working week such as adjusting working days from five days to four days per week. Meanwhile, employees can enjoy a longer break from work. Personally, I disagree with this proposal and the reasons are demonstrated below. In many countries especially in Europe, it is not unusual to have long annual vacation days, which varies from 25 to 40. Together with public holidays, it provides individuals adequate time to get rest and get back to work. In addition, it has become more common for employers to offer hybrid working mode or completely remote nowadays, which eables employees to spend less time in commuting, as well as working in a more relaxing enviornment. Therefore, implementing shorter weekdays might negatively influence the amount of work people could achieve. Furthermore, some staff have already felt Mondays are not as productive as expected due to the two-day break. Extending the weekends is highly likely to increase this fatigue when they return to workplace, and makes it harder to concertrate. Besides, it is a social norm to have a two-day weekend, and the change of working duration might cause confusions and challenges among companies that collabrate together. For instance, if a company started to experiment a four-working- days policy, its suppliers and customers would need to adjust their working pace accordingly, which might delay the projects and impact their business. To conclude, reducing working days is a bold yet challenging proposal. On the one hand, the amount of finished work might be reduced. On the other hand, people could experience difficulties when they return from the long weekend. Moreover, it makes the joint collaborations among various companies harder to manage.