A lot of people nowadays are spending too much money and they do not save anything for future use. What are the reasons for people spend too much? Is this a positive or negative development?

There is an ongoing debate about whether people should save their money for the future or they should spend as much as they want, even on unnecessary items. With the prevelance of consumerism mindset in so many countries, people have more tendancy towards compulsive buying which can have both positive and negative sides. One of the root causes that people do not spend their money only out of necessity is their disposable income. The more salary they earn, the easier they pay for the goods that could be used once or twice. Some people also believe that retail therapy can help them get distracted from some of their mental disorders such as depression or loneliness. Furtheremore, social media and peer influence have a direct effect on consumers' behaviour. Last but not least, the various advertisements that we are exposed to during scrolling the social media will lead to making more impulsive shopping choices. For example, when we are watching videos on youtube or posts on instagram, we will see different ads every 15 minutes and if we click on those ads we will be redirected to their websites. This can encourage us to buy some of those products on a whim. Promoting overconsumerism has both beneficial and harmful consequences. When people buy the products that will not be usable for a long-term, disposing those items needs large landfills. If those products will not be recycled or disposed properly, it will have detrimental effects on environment. Moreover, materialistic mindset will promote speding too much money and if an emergency case happens such as an important trip, people will not have suffiecient amount of saving to use. It is also worth mentioning one of the positive aspects of consumerism is that it helps the economy growth in a society. The imposed taxes on the goods can be used in other sectors such as education or healthcare. In conclusion, the negative aspects of overspending money on buying unneeded items outweigh its positive gains. People should control their shopping habits and try to make their purchases wisely.