Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Innovation requires a numerous of experiments. The subject of whether governments or the private sectors should conduct the research has been widely argued. I am of the opinion that major and life-threatening ones have to be carried out by officials, while private organisations can also make contribution as innovation is often driven by them. First and foremost, the oversight of government is pivotal in some cases. The experiments related to bio-engineering, nuclear warships, surveillance systems and many others are cases in point, as failing to do so will result in irreversible damage. As many companies out there that are able to use these findings in a negative way. Imagine that a company which found the nuclear technology that can take thousands of lives within a second, allowing it to threaten other to get profits from them. Take, the case of NASA, which is a government -oriented corporation that is concentrated on establishing spacecrafts and rockets. As many detrimental consequences can be caused by cosmic exploration, such as contracting with extraterrestrial creatures that can be threat to our living on the planet, having control over the government is the best way to ensure security. On the other hand, most of the time innovations came from independent organisations. Having a large number of equipments and investments provides them more chances to achieve success in compared to governments due to the fact that organisations heavily donate all resources to them. However, government revenue should be allocated to various sectors, namely education, housing, construction, healthcare because the nation development and well-being depend on them. Moreover, companies within the same sector are always in competition, so the quickest outcome is essential in order to outrace others. This is to say that this tendency assists them to reach the targeted results as soon as possible. SpaceX created by Elon Musk invest in huge financial incentives that is unrealistic to be done by authorities. In conclusion, while government oversight is instrumental, supports of the private sectors to the development is undeniable due to high funding and competitive nature. Careful monitoring and consideration are needed to maximise benefits, while minimising harm.