Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is considerable debate about whether the study of history is not beneficial or it enables us to comprehend the present. While both schools of thought have their valid points, I am inclined to agree with the latter view. Advocates of the perspective that learning about the past can offer almost nothing mention some reasons as an explanation. The key cause lies in the fact that it focuses too much on memorisation, not on skills, such as critical thinking; therefore, history is sometimes considered useless. Furthermore, it is believed that old events does not provide solutions to modern problems, including cybercrime, climate change, and AI regulation. Nevertheless, there are those who claim that knowledge of the past allows to understand the current times and they give factors for this. First and foremost, it teaches to prevent the repetion of mistakes done before. For example, collapse of empires gave a lesson that societies cannot be ruled without justice and civil rights. An additional cause is that it indicates nationnal identity. Nowadays, 80% of countries in the world made it a compulsory subject in schools. Moreover, the field provides people with the knowledge of what events which triggered the evolution of the Earth and humanity took place. Thanks to the information about the Silk Road individuals have currently, they now know why the Central Asia was the crossroads of cultures. In conclusion, despite these arguments, I remain convinced that the study of the past has so much to offer.