Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy food and drinks to encourage people to eat healthier. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?”

In today's fast-paced world, there is a considerabler debate about whether it is right to levy a tax on food and drinks harmful to health. While there are both advantages and disadvantages of the trend, I believe that the benefits surpass the drawbacks. One key downside is that imposing a tax on unhealthy food and beverages creates financial burden, especially to those below the poverty line or students who usually study and work simultaneously. In other words, low-income families is high likely struggle to feed their children, as the majority of them heavily rely on processed and junk food due to their affordability. For example, an extremely poor person who lunches with instant noodles or convenience food may become ill not being able to buy anything to eat. Moreover, it limits personal freedom. From most people's perspective, it should be a choice to have balanced diet not state regulated. Otherwise, citizens may feel pressure and do not want to follow strict rules of the government. Nevertheless, there are numerous upsides of the development, the first of which is reduced consumption and health improvement. To put it another way, after the law is implemented, it is probable that obesity and related diseases will diminish. According to the reports, sales of sugary and high-fat food and soft drinks decreased substancially in Mexico on the grounds of the execution of such law. Furthermore, money which come from it can be channeled to the field of medicine, which reinforces public well-being. For instance, if a hospitats are substandard, funds for the repair can be allocated or give use some money on health programmes. In conclusion, although negative aspects of the trend exist, its positive aspects prevail.