In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, humans are now having a longer lifespan than previous generations in many countries. Some people say that a population containing elders can become a problem for the government, while others opine that there are positive effects from having large proportions of older people. This essay will shed light on the drawbacks that outnumber the benefits. There are two detrimental impacts that the government experiences from having a large ageing population in the country. First and foremost, the economic and health burden. The economic growth declined because the number of working-age residents decreased throughout the year. Pensioners are often categorised as non-productive residents. This is because they could not work anymore. Older adults also undergo hospital care due to chronic disease. The increasing health costs can make those countries unable to provide health guarantees. For instance, a grandmother who settled in Jakarta endured cancer at 89 years old. Secondly, a gap in inadequate public facilities for grandparents. Facilities such as department stores and transportation can not even help them to enjoy themselves because of the difference in physical abilities. Compared with youngsters who can walk properly in Indonesia, retirees usually can not walk properly, and sometimes they are helped by a wheelchair. On the other hand, the advantage that the country gains from nourishing senior citizens is the social value contribution. The elderly are respected because of their wisdom and their life experiences. They participate actively in social activities, such as doing morning exercises and volunteering. For example, in Surabaya city, a community of civil servant retirees always cycles together on Sunday morning. In conclusion, from my perspective, the negatives from having a society of elders outweigh the positives because countries experience economic and health burden and also the public facilities gap.