Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the prevailing era, learning second language is critical in order to explore new opportunities. A number of schools emphasis teaching to a second language at primary school. This trend has more pros than cons. Commencing with the most salient benefit of starting foreign language at primary school is to improve language proficiency. At an early age, learners have a greater ability to abosrb language due to developing brain whereas adolescents may find difficult to grab grammer rules, speaking pronunication correctly, and many more. For example, if children learn French at a young age, they can speak very well at their later life. Besides, It intends to spread awareness about diverse culture, traditional, and history of foreign culture that normally promote empathy, tolerance, and global understanding from an early age towards other people. On the other side, drawbacks of this trend cannot be overlooked. The prominent one is that it leads to an increase in academic pressure. Learners already face some challenges in their school curriculum due to stiff competition. Having an extra subject can put burden on their brains in which they find difficulties to focus on their study. To illustrate, core subjects, such as mathematics, science, and history may seem difficult to understand for many of them, and having a foreign language subject can create undue stress. To conclude, although having a language subject can put burden on their brains is the main drawback of this trend, I contend that ameliorating language expertise and culture awareness are one of the major benefits of learning second langauge at an early age.