The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in societyQq

It is no secret that swmoking is harmful; nevertheless, numerous individuals do not quit this habit. Whereas the problem stems from several factors, a number of viable solutions can be adopted. One major cause of the issue is depression. In other words, most people tend to apply cigarettes, when they are overwhelmed by stress, so smoking helps them cope with it. For example, a worker under pressure or a student anxious of upcoming exams smoke to calm their nerves. Moreover, some teenagers or young people start this habit due to social influence, especially when thery try to fit in with their friends. A further explanation can be addiction. A significant number of smokers attempt to stop the habit, but usually end up relapsing owing to the dependance on nicotine, the content of the cigarette. Nevertheless, the problem can be tackled through appropriate measures; the first of which is increasing the costs of cigarettes significantly, which leads to reduction in consumption. Recently, several EU countries raised the prices of tobacco products, which may prove useful in the long term. Furthermore, it would be better to ban smoking in public places. Another action that can be taken is to promote awareness about the consequences of this behaviour by establishing campaigns and spreading information about health hazards of smoking on social media. In conclusion, although the issue of stopping smoking in society is complex, it is not insurmountable. Only through collective effort can we hope to overconme this problem.