Space exploration costs taxpayers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

In today's society, space travel is one of the leading topics among people. Therefore, its exploration and analysis costs an enormous amount of taxpayer money each year. For some people, it may seem insignificant, and it is also a waste of time and money. For others, it is a new revolutionary topic that needs to be studied. For those reasons, in this essay, I will be discussing both advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, exploring the space is important. Due to ever-growing populations and massive loss of irreplaceable resources of the earth. It can be considered one of the most important research areas, which will help humanity and save its life on Earth. Investigating further in space can lead to going to other planets to live there. Moreover, studying the outer zone might help people to understand more about the universe. On the other hand, others argue that, before knowing more about the world itself, it must be protected. They say that saving their homeworld should be a priority. Therefore, taxpayers' money should go to medicine or environmental issues that need to be prioritised. For example, pollutions such as air, water, land and others, for medicine for all kinds of cancer research and studies. Paying attention to these things could potentially save the earth we live in. Suffice it to say, both sides have a strong argument that can lead to new things, but it is not entirely useless to study around our solar system.