Many modern children spend a great deal of time sitting in front of a television or computer screen. This is extremely harmful to their development. Therefore, parent should strictly limit the time that children spend in this way. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, virtual pastime has become ubiquitous all over the world. Some individuals argue that there should be restriction on the time, that children utilize on watching television or using digital screens, while others do not agree with this. I partially agree with this notion, for which the vindication would be elaborated in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, children limit their boundaries to the content displayed on the televisions or on mobiles and tend to hesitate to spend time with family and friends because they have become addicted with virtual gadgets. As a result, this thing hinders their social development, and they deal with mental problems in their further life. To exemplify, in 2024, the University of Stanford revealed that around 34% of the young generation in Britain is dealing with depression and anxiety. Furthermore, in this contemporary era, juveniles are more favourable of a convenient life. Most likely,they spend most of the time in playing virtual games and watching cartoons on digital screens, rather than becoming curious about physical games. As a consequence, they become physically inactive, and it leads to issues like obesity, eye strain and many more. To illustrate, the WHO indicates that due to less physical activity, as compared to the previous century, individuals are having shorter heights. In juxtaposition, technology has become the need of the time. If individuals are spending more time on this, they can become more tech-savvy in future and become part of the race. If parents make restrictions on the time the children utilize on virtual tools, it can restrain them from the knowledge of modern technology. To conclude, the exposure to television is not the real concern, but to what extent children consume time on it. So, parents should make a timetable for the children, that what extent of time they should spend on computer and on physical tasks. In this way, they can become computer literate as well as physically healthy.