It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

Small shops competing with large supermarkets and online shops has become a very hectic activity these days. This essay will highlight how it can have consequences on the local communities and suggests some possible solutions to this situation. To begin, one of the bad effects this issue will bring to the local communities is lack of interest in business. Most of the members in the local communities preferred buying from the small shops because of it conveniency. However since the introduction of large business people have stopped buying from the small business because they believe the large ones are cheap. This situation has made a lot of people less interested in opening small businesses. It can affect the community because they would loose the income that those small businesses would generate. Additionally, the less privileged such as older adults and people will and deformities will be affected more since the small businesses are sometimes owned by them. For example, all the evidence points out that, most of the local shops in most African countries are owned by pensioners. So if the lagger companies compete with them, their business collapse hence making them become burden to the government. One of the possible solutions to this problem is that, there should be some law enforcement governing the creation of companies either small or large. This will help limit competition in the market which will eventually benefit the community at large. Again, there should be frequent education on marketing strategies in our local communities, such initiatives would help limit the rate at which small businesses loose interest because of competition from the large companies. In conclusion, the competition nature of marketing in small and large businesses affect the local communities because the small ones loose interest and the less privileged suffer most because they own most of the Small shops. This problem can be solved by given education on business management and setting some rules and regulations and ensure everyone follows accordingly.