The rise of social media has affected personal relationships and society. Do the advantages of using social media for communicating outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some people think that overusing social media affects individuals’ connection with the community, while others believe it is beneficial. This essay will discuss both views and give my opinion. On the one hand, modern apps can be dangerous for relationships between people. Direct connection with society is essential and helps to improve many skills such as critical thinking. In addition, social media reduces gatherings with family and friends. For example, if there is no face-to-face contact, people may become lonelier and the risk of emotional problems can increase. In this case, BBC News stated that the overuse of social media affects many countries negatively and can lead to stress-related illnesses. On the other hand, some people think the opposite. Social media can be a good way to stay connected with family members, colleagues, and teachers. These devices provide applications that allow people to communicate anytime and anywhere. For instance, in 2020, I communicated with my teacher on Microsoft Teams to discuss lessons related to the final exam. To sum up, it is difficult to choose which view is better. In my opinion, the advantages of using social media for communication outweigh the disadvantages.