In today's society, the internet plays a significant role in communication. Some believe that it has brought people closer together, while others argue that it has led to social isolation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the rapid development of technology, people tend to communicate with others by internet worldwide, while certain individuals opine that this causes to social isolation among the next generation. This essay will discuss both perspectives, as well as social media is beneficial and helpful to connect with others. On the one hand, social media platforms can omit the physcial barrier and provide instant reactions. To illustrate, mankind are more likely to work or live across the world. Under globalisation, increasingly employees are relocated to work in different countries. Nonetheless, communication tools, such as Facetime, Skype, Whatsapp, are able to update the latest information to their families, so they can get closer, even staying in different nations. In addition, digital media can provide visual content, so it can ease the homesick of workers in foreign regions. On the other hand, the younger generation with lower interpersonal skills because of being addicted to online games. For instance, numerous studies reveal that younger people spend excessive amount of time on the internet, so it leads to have fewer opportunities to communicate in person. As a result, this causes the youth is bad in socialising with persons. In conclusion, although digital media can offer convenience and instant platforms to connect with families and friends across the world, teenagers have lower communication abilities owing to being obsessed on playing online games. Thus, I suggest that governments should limit the duration of using electronic devices under sixteen years old. For example, the Australia government plans to ban teenagers,who are under 16, adopting social media.