Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicine and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

People who go down with illnesses are always encouraged to seek medical care. However, recently a great number of them have developed an interest in seeking healthcare through other means such as herbal remedies and acupuncture instead of visiting the hospital or clinic. This have serious health implications for people and also increases the sum of money they spend on these treatments. It is an established fact that, most herbal preparations used by sick people are not properly regulated by standard authorities. This predisposes those who patronize it to serious health complications. A common example is the effect these concoctions have on the kidneys and liver. Because it's molecules are too large for kidneys to filter and the liver to metabolism, it causes these organs to fail. There are other adverse effects which include severe weight loss and increased blood pressure to mention a few. Furthermore, these alternative treatments most often fail to thoroughly assess clients to know the cause of diseases. They do not have sophisticated machines and equipment to carry out proper analysis to effectively diagnose their patients. As a result, people spend so much money at these facilities before finally deciding to seek help at a regular hospital by which time a greater chunk of their finances is wasted. For instance, women who have uterine fibroids in Ghana are convinced that when they drink herbal medicine it will melt the myomas, hence they spend on these items, waste so much time and end up running to the hospital when their conditions worsen. This, in my opinion, is a negative development as it causes even worse disease conditions and also serve as a means extorting money from sick people.