Do you agree or disagree that celebrities are paid far too much money? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern society, there is an ongoing debate about whether celebrities are paid more than they deserve or their earnings worth their effort and talent. I firmly believe that a certain group of celebrities, such as actors or influencers and bloggers, are overpaid; however, public figures such as athletes do deserve to earn a considerable amount of money. To begin with, fame should not be the leading factor in getting paid. Nowadays, with the prevalence of social media, there is a huge group of bloggers and influencers who are infamous, but they easily earn substantial money by advertising impractical products only because they have so many followers. Moreover, there are many actors that earn millions of dollars by participating in a TV show interview or becoming the ambassador of a beauty brand. Although it is undeniable that some of these famous people are highly talented, the gap between the amount of money that celebrities earn and an ordinary construction worker or a scientist is huge. This trend can also affect the young generation and convey a wrong definition of success to them. On the other hand, I agree that some of the celebrities, such as athletes or musicians, deserve every penny they earn. Behind becoming a renowned athlete or a skilled musician are years of practising tirelessly and intensive learning. It is also very hard to succeed in a field such as football with so many competitors around the world. Sport players have a limited time to flourish, and after their golden period is over, which is usually between 18 to 30, they need to switch to other positions, such as being a coach or earning money by making an endorsement of a sports brand or investing whatever they have earned in other occupations. To conclude, I am of the opinion that salary and earnings should be based on an individual's merit, skill and contribution to society and welfare. Although, there are many celebrities who participate in charity events or establish awareness campaigns, the government should narrow the financial gap between their earning and the salaries of other people.