Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative trend?

Today, almost everyone around the world has a smartphone. Thanks to technology, it is now easier than ever to communicate with other people. On one hand, this is a remarkable technology achievement of human civilization, however it has some downsides. More and more people use their phones excessively, even if they do not need them. This is due to a rise of smartphones apps. They catch our attention, with saturated and colorful colors. Even though the apps are useless people still use them for different reasons. The major app that takes human attention from whats truly important in the world such as family, friends spending time in nature is tiktok. Tiktok is a sharing short content video platform. There is little regulation on what can you post there except indecent content. It has only one rule to post as much eye catching videos to get more views. Driven by a great algorithm, usually when people enter the platform they are unable to comprehend the time spent. Furthermore more and more apps started to implement the same strategy. For instance we have apps such as instagram, youtube, snapchat and more that use short video content to glue human eyes to the screen. Even though back then the apps mention above were useful, now they simply fight for your attention. As a result many kids and adults have short span memory and attention. There is less connection between families. I know families who while eating are doom scrolling through their phones and have severe social problems. Another possible reason is the fact of smartphones are used now for all kind of day to day communications. Regardless of whether you are calling your mom in the free time or sharing some photos on social media, it is time you spend in front of a screen. I think the fact of people spending so much time on their phones is bad, we lose contact with ourself and with the things that matter the most. In conclusion technology is great, but this does not mean we have to use it in a way to affect our health and social well being. We need to use technology only when we need it, not always.