1.In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this solution outweigh the disadvantages?

Attending university used to be everyone’s dream in a long period. However, there is a trend that work-based training is a popular choice for more young people in some countries. In my perspective, the disadvantages of this trend outweigh its benefits. In terms of personal career development, work-based training can limit their further growing in consequence of lack of enough theoretical knowledge which must acquire in universities as compulsory subjects, although work-based programme can help young people to find jobs quickly. For instance, advanced mathematics and physics can provide useful tools and models to analyse sophisticated engineering problems, and psychology can teach you how to deal with different emotions in reasonable ways, while what worked-based training provides about techniques only applied in workshops might not be so diversity, which can limit the multidisciplinary visions for trainees to solve problems in different views. Besides, students in work-based training programme lose their chances to make friends majored in various subjects, which is bad for expending their social network in the future. In addition, it is harmful for a country to have more people engaged in work-based training instead of graduating from universities. It can’t be denied that work-base training can provide enough employees into labour market in a short term indeed. Nonetheless, the high-tech companies need more talents with abundant knowledge in the fields such as aerospace, pharmacy, quantum technology and artificial intelligence, which levels the work-based training programme can’t reach. The studies about chemistry reaction mechanism also need scholars in universities. Without these people researching state-of-the-art science and technologies, a country will face adverse circumstances that its high-tech products markets lack of enough international competitiveness. Thus, it can probably be toxic to its economy growing in the long run. Overall, despite of the pros of addressing the problem of labour force in a short time, the trend of choosing work-based training is not only restricted to personal career development, but also a hurdle for a country to its advanced science and technology research and its economic prosperity. As a result, the governments should support university education more.