Today, the expensive price of popular consumer products is because of the power of advertising and not real needs of people. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the high cost of trendy products are due to their marketing efforts rather than society's real needs. This essay will argue that the statement stands true, especially in terms of social media marketing and the prestige of buying expensive products. Firstly, social media usage has reached an all-time high and companies are taking advantage of this situation to market their products through online trends. Consequently, as a product becomes popular, more people are inclined to buy it to participate to the trend while disregarding its expensive price Moreover, staying relevant with the current trends is perceived to be more important than mindfully consider a purchase from its price point. Other than that, product advertisement is no longer about its quality, but more of the pride and exclusivity of having the product. For instance, being one of the most expensive brands, many people dream to buy Hermes bag because the brand is famous for handpicking its customers, underlining the brand's exclusivity and luxury. Thus, the expensive price tag is perceived as a part of the luxurious brand image rather than a drawback. To summarise, it is proven to be agreeable that advertisement allows people to neglect a product's high price point. The culprits behind this phenomenon are the growth of social media trends and the prestigious image of the brands. Ultimately, advertisements largely induce consumerism habits in the society and encourage unnecessary purchases based on trends and brand image.