Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Children spend a major portion of their time on smartphones because of easier accessibility to devices provided by their parents who want to distract their children from bothering them. It is also true that the increased usage is also because of the advancement in technology and their dependency on them for learning, communicating and entertainment. The overusage of smartphones has a very negative impact on children ’s mental and physical health, and it has also affected their behaviour patterns. Firstly, the unregulated usage of smartphones has an adverse impact on their mental and physical health. Children prefer to spend their time indoors watching content on social media rather than engage in physical activities like sports. This has made them more lethargic and has impacted their social interaction skills. It is also important to note that youngsters are now more distracted than ever before. Studies of brain scans between children using smartphones for a long time and adults consuming drugs shows some similarity. The scans suggest that the usage of phones is rewiring the neurons in children ’s brains, impacting their cognitive and critical thinking. Secondly, sudden changes in behaviour are also observed who excessively use phones. They are more aggressive and impatient. Example: when their smartphones are taken away by parents, they throw tantrums and yell until they are given their device back. Likewise, their focus and attention span are also deteriorating. On the contrary, we can also argue that the advancement of technology has allowed easier accessibility of knowledge. It is now easier to connect, communicate and learn than used to be in past. However, with this abundance of knowledge, it is also hard to distinguish between misinformation that could easily misguide children. In conclusion, I believe that the negative impact of phone usage far outweighs its positive impact as it alters children ’s behaviour and also impacts their mental and physical health.