Some people believe that schools should teach practical skills such as financial management, cooking and basic repairs, instead of focusing mainly on academic subjects. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, education plays a vital role in preparing children for the future necessities of our societies. Some people believe that educational institutions should teach practical skills, while others consider that they should focus on academic subjects. From my point of view, I agree with the first group, and I will discuss my opinion in this essay. Firstly, learning practical skills will help teenagers become functional adults. For instance, if you know how to cook, you will be able to have a balanced diet and, consequently, better health. Another crucial topic to learn is finance, since it will be useful for increasing your income. For example, it may lead to a better management of your savings. Secondly, it is widely known that soft skills are highly demanded by companies, as they foster team work and problem-solving abilities. For example, if you have the capacity to organise your own life, you are more likely to successfully lead a project. Finally, having these practical capacities allows you to become a confident person who is more prepared to face challenges, such as changing jobs or moving to a new country, because you will have more flexibility to adapt to change. In conclusion, although academic subjects are also necessary, I believe schools should give more importance to practical skills. This way, they will prepare students for a successful and independent life.