Some people say that protecting the environment is the government's responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the question of whether governments should protect the environment has been widely discussed. While some people argue it is the government’s responsibility to take care of the planet, others believe that individuals should take the initiative. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and explain why I agree with the first statement. Firstly, I consider government can take advantage of their power and position to develop the infrastructure for starting to protect the environment. For example, they have the economic resources to install recycling bins and the authority to implement rules to force citizens to recycle. Secondly, they have the capacity to control the use of petrol and fossil fuels by big companies. For instance, they can increase the taxes to discourage the harmful daily activities of factories, which generate greenhouse gases. Furthermore, they can encourage the use of renewable energies by educating society. To illustrate this, Ireland has created an award to reward and give their recognition to the most sustainable companies. Nevertheless, we cannot overlook the fact that citizens have to cooperate by following the implemented legislation, because this will lead to a more effective solution for the climate crisis. It is known that, even though individual actions are small, all together they can have a huge impact. In conclusion, although individual responsibility is also necessary, I believe the action of governments is even more crucial because they have control of the countries and the facilities to be successful in taking care of the environment.