With the increasing use and development of new technology, many machine are new able to do the work which people used to perform. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary world, the rapid development of technology has infiltrated almost all aspects of our lives, entirely revolutionizing certain industries by automating and digitalizing them. Resultantly, a multitude of professionals have been superseded by robots. It is my contention that technology is a multifaceted phenomenon with merits and demerits simultaneously. To begin with, technological advancements have been playing an indispensable part in the massive transformation of manufacturing industries. To exemplify this statement, over the last century, the production capacity of plants increased drastically due to the substitution of the human workforce with machine power which is relatively faster, cheap to run and sustainable as compared to other alternatives. Consequently, these advancements brought about the parallel improvement of other industries, one feeding the other perpetually in order to make this world a sufficient place to live. Furthermore, another advantage of this technological takeover is that machines are renowned for their ability to produce many materials with almost zero blemishes, a feat that is often unattainable with human incorporation. Companies like Toyota and Amazon have replaced a huge number of their employees with robots with high production throughput to reach their heydays. Whilst their production capacity increased by almost tenfold, the quality errors have gone down to zero, offsetting their investment costs under the first two years. On the contrary, though many conglomerates derive massive benefits through exploiting the advantages of machinery, this trend has also a downgrading impact on humanity. It is evident that if this propensity to replace humans with machines continues further on, presumably a big majority of the human population will be unemployed, thus, leading to a modern catastrophe which cannot be undone. Undoubtedly, this magnitude of an event will cause many financial crises to break out, eventually derailing the entire economy. In conclusion, despite the fact that the risk of an economic downturn is imminent if business owners keep substituting their employees with machines, the salient benefits of machines over humans outweigh its drawbacks.