Today, people in many countries have to spend more and more time away from their families. Why is this happening? What effects does this have on the people themselves and on their families?

In today’s world, many individuals find that they have less time with the family. Before, such occurrences were limited to just a few places, but now, citizens in many countries experience something similar. This essay will try to identify the factors contributing to this and also explain some effects that may emerge because of this problem. There are numerous reasons why this is happening. The first one is that the increased standard of living is requiring breadwinners to seek better opportunities farther from home. Domestically, this may mean working in a nearby town or city on the weekdays and going home on the weekends. However, other times, the search for better job vacancies often requires them to work abroad for months or years. Another reason for this shift is society’s promotion of independence. Nowadays, a person is considered mature and successful if they can live independently. Thus, many teenagers leave home early, preferring to study in faraway cities. Such independence may also encourage spouses to maintain separate career paths that keep them away from one another for extended periods. Unfortunately, such a long time apart takes its toll on individuals and their families. Homesickness is often a result of time away from the family, leading to depression. If such people cannot recover quickly, their jobs or studies are often greatly affected, leading to even more problems, a vicious cycle. As for their families, the lengthy separation usually weakens the family bonds, despite the availability of communication technology. Children often do not feel their absentee parent’s love, causing resentment in some cases. To conclude, because of the general need to provide for the family and achieve personal success, this trend of living apart is slowly becoming the norm. Therefore, the feeling of homesick and weakened family bonds are often inevitable.