The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the lack of accommodation in many big cities can result in major disasters, and it can only be solved by the government through infrastructure improvements. I totally agree with this statement and believe that the shortage of housing can increase homelessness and poverty, the government should take appropriate steps to tackle this issue. To begin with, one of the primary concerns for accommodation shortages in metropolitan areas is homelessness. More people migrate to urban areas because of opportunities and employment, and thus, they require accommodation. If cities cannot provide people with housing, this could affect their safety and security because of the shortage of shelters. In London, for instance, an annual report from CHAIN suggests that more than 13000 people were homeless in 2025, which rose by more than 63% compared to a decade ago. In addition, the lack of accommodation means higher competition for houses, which often increases the rent and eventually puts people under pressure for higher living costs. So, who is responsible for solving this housing crisis? One possible solution is the intervention from the government. Governments should modify the city's infrastructure by building modern skyscrapers with more affordable apartments, and by providing shelters for those who are in need of immediate protection. One notable step is taken by the Los Angeles authority, which is converting hotels into temporary shelters, and building faster and cheaper accommodation for permanent movers. By doing this, the authority is not only saving many lives by providing security but also securing safe accommodation for upcoming generations. Hence, the housing crisis can only be solved by the people in power in major metropolitan areas. To summarise, the housing crisis can affect people's ability and security, and can lead to homelessness, I believe that the government should build affordable homes and provide temporary shelters for people who are in need.