Some parents believe that learning mathematics at schools is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used in later life. Discuss both sides.

It is considered by some parents that teaching mathematics in schools should be banned, as they believe it is an unnecessary subject. Whereas some argue that no matter the significance it holds in pupils' futures, it should remain a primary subject. I am inclined to agree with the latter belief. Mathematics can be helpful in so many aspects. On the one hand, some individuals are more interested in artistic subjects and imagine their future to develop in that field. Naturally, an artist doesn’t require mathematical knowledge to succeed in their profession. To illustrate, it is roughly unfair to have a pupil focus immensely on mathematics when they show talent and enthusiasm in photography. In most scenarios, the student lose interest in the field they are passionate about and it results in a lack of motivation. There is much research done on this phenomenon that proves that mathematics can lead to a lack of interest in all subjects. On the other hand, banning a subject as fundamental as mathematics can be rather detrimental. In almost all stages of life, there will be a circumstance in which you will be in need of mathematics. Additionally, this subject is also said to be one of the most beneficial and effective elements for brain development. As an example, there was research from a university in The Hague that students were supposed to spend a week with the art department students who are not forced to take mathematics. Moreover, this study showed that most of those educators were unable to calculate basic numbers and without their phones to use a calculator, they struggled a great deal. In conclusion, mathematics can be highly frustrating and lead to extreme demotivation especially in those who prefer more artistic studies. However, despite the lack of passion and interest in this subject, it is still a substantial subject to follow in order to easily calculate the simplest numbers. Thus, it should remain a vital subject to be taught at school.