Some people think that good health is a basic human need and the medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do disadvantages outweigh advantages? Give your opinion.

Some believe that profit-seeking companies should not run the medical service as it is a fundamental human need. This essay argues that despite the abundant fundings of the profit-making organizations which ensure the health services availability, the downside is far more damaging, especially in terms of equality of healthcare access. On the on hand, healthcare services scarcity has been a serious problem in society due to lack of funding and resources. Consequently, due to gaining significant profit from the healthcare services that they offer, pharmaceutical business ensure the security of its services to supply the high demand. During COVID-19 outbreak in 2020, Indonesian government were struggling to fulfill the free mandatory vaccination for the whole nation. As a result, the authorities suggested the middle-higher income citizens to get vaccinated from the third-party company. Despite its expensive price, people chose to seek health services from profit-making pharmaceutical company because of scarcity and the urgency to be vaccinated immediately. However, the disadvantage is very damaging for society. As pharmaceutical business expands and starts to monopolize health industry, equal access to healthcare is harder to maintain. Moreover, the capitalistic industries will gatekeep a proper health treatment for people with buying power and neglect people with lower income bracket. Furthermore, this situation threatens the nation's public health situation due to the health disparity between the rich and the poor. Ultimately, the government should reinforce a policy for pharma company to have a certain upper limit price for their service to ensure the equality of health services utility. In conclusion, although profit-making health industry helps with scarcity problems of healthcare services, its negative effect is far more damaging. The capitalism and monopoly of profit-based companies induce the inequality of healthcare treatment throughout different income level.