There are several factors that motivate people to stay in the workforce, and money is the most important factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that job income is the most essential factor for employees in deciding to keep working, however, in my opinion, it is not the only thing that motivates people. This essay will argue that there are other factors that matter equally, if not more, than money. Higher paychecks and bonuses come with more demanding tasks and increased work hours; these can translate into a bad work-life balance. Ignoring this negative balance not only leads to stress and mental exhaustion, but also to serious ill health. Indeed, my Uncle chose to pursue the highest job title in order to earn the highest paycheque; unfortunately, things didn’t turn out as he had expected. After a short time, he had a nervous breakdown, which made him realise that prioritising your health over your job is essential if you want to live a decent life. Moreover, the younger generations of employees have a strong awareness about finding the right balance between job and personal life; That’s why, for example, younger people tend to always ask companies they apply for the smart-working policy. Nowadays, individuals tend to be more attracted to well-being instead of running after the highest income. I’m one example of this myself; I worked as a school teacher, and during that time I felt overwhelmed by the workload and by the scarce free time I had. I now work as a gardener; it was a life-changing decision. I feel motivated, and excited to go to work every day, despite the fact that I earn far less money. To sum up, I believe wage is a fundamental factor that weighs a lot in an individual’s decision to keep working. However, it is not the only factor that influences the choice.