Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Having a habit of giving and sharing things with others is definitely a very positive attitude. Some people believe everyone should voluntarily give their exact amount of earnings for charity. I personally tend to disagree with that statement. Some considerations regarding my attitude and the supporting reasons will be elaborated in this essay. Firstly and foremost, one condition making me disagree with the statement is the words “exact amount ” that should be donated. These days, everyone in this society is having various kinds of jobs, it could be official jobs or unofficial ones. This leads to the salary received every month, which could change at any time. Take a freelancer as an extreme example. They could have many jobs at a time followed by high income, but have none for the next month with no income as well. For someone who has this kind of unfixed job, it will be very difficult for them to set the exact amount to be donated. Secondly, the act of giving is not always about money. It could be items as well, either new items or secondhand ones. For example, donating books for children, food for people living in the street, and secondhand clothing for orphanages. Depending on the situation and who will receive the donation, sometimes goods are more appropriate to share rather than money itself. To conclude, although donating some money to support charity is a really lovely attitude, it is quite tricky to demand people give their fixed amount of earnings. I believe it is more likely to start the habit of giving, rather than focusing on the amount. Therefore, I disagree that everyone should donate a fixed amount of their salary for charity purpose.