Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Dung

There's an ongoing debate regarding the severity of punishments for offenders. While some people argue that long prison sentences is the effective way to punish, others claim that we can reduce crime by alternative ways, such as rehabilitation or community work. In my opinion, I agree with the latter view as it gives more opportunity for prisoners to reform their lives. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion in detail with relevant examples. On the one hand, many people believe that prolonged jail sentences are the best punishment. This is because, offenders should be kept behind bars to ensure the safety and security of citizens. In addition, such punishments deter as a threat and prevent others from involving in crime related activities. For example, in China, the government has enforced a law, even for minor crimes like robbery that criminals should serve at least 10 years behind bars. After enforcing this rule, the minor crime rates are significantly reduced by 60%. However, it is important to remember that criminals often make friends with other offenders during their stay, and take revenge or re-offend when they are released. On the other hand, people claim that we should consider alternative ways to reduce crime. For instance, rehabilitation gives an opportunity for prisoners to learn and develop their skills, which will be useful to find jobs when they are released. As a result, it prevents them from taking revenge or involve in criminal activities as they would have a proper job to earn stable income like others. Furthermore, such option would make them feel connected to the society rather than feeling isolated.  As an example, in china, a successful entrepreneur confessed while he gave an interview, that he was a burglar once, and the vocational training in prison motivated him to start a business on his own. In conclusion, although people have different opinions on punishments and its severity, I believe that people should give an opportunity by considering the alternative ways of punishments to reduce crime rates, which does not only prevent them from re-offending, but also help them to socialise with society.