Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

Water is one of humankind's basic needs, a daily and life-long essential that a person literally can not live without. Therefore, I believe that every home deserves a water supply that is free of charge. Firstly, humans need water for basic survival. There is a common saying that humans can live without food for a month, but humans cannot survive without water for three to seven days. Water not only provides hydration and cooking, but it is also essential for hygiene. Self-care as basic as a shower is required for long-term comfort and good health, especially in hot and humid places where diseases thrive. In my experience, living in Malaysia meant most people shower more than once, as the climate induces sweat and body odour. Bathing is practised daily to prevent sickness and discomfort; not only is it an act for the self, but also to look after the public. Moreover, in the perspective of medical practice, a lack of water consumption will very likely lead to permanent damage to the kidneys. Secondly, I believe that people should not be punished for simply needing water. From my limited knowledge and experiences, many third-world countries' populations struggled to survive merely because they cannot afford to pay for basic needs such as water and food. Further, some countries also lack clean water supply due to factors like geography and/or poor regulation. Meanwhile, Australia is a well-developed country, and water is much more accessible compared to some. Hence, I think with this wealth and resource, it is important that the government fund for the basic wellbeing of its people. I think it is cruel to force households to pay more fees simply because they need more water. It would be unfair for larger families that simply has more members, or households living in poverty to pay for something that is a basic human rights. Some could argue that free water supply meant encouraging people to misuse or waste water supply. However, I would rather someone's life to be saved from not having access to water, before some preventable death from dehydration or disease occurs