Some people believe that it is possible for a country to be economically successful and have a clean environment. Others argue that these two aims are not compatible. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, it is argued that a nation can both earn a large amount of money and protect the environment. Some individuals believe that it is difficult to achieve these two goals at the same time. However, I believe that a country should be able to take action to address both issues. Certainly, economic growth might have negative effects on the environment in some cases. First, some companies may use too excessive resources in order to increase their profits. For example, when they produce a large number of products such as furniture or IT software, it can lead many resources and much electricity to be consumed. As a result, natural environmental cycles can be damaged. In addition, in terms of tourism, if many people travel around a country, gas emissions from transportation like cars and airplanes may increase. Consequently, it can worsen air pollution in areas. On the other hand, the economic success also offers tremendous benefits for protecting environment. First, companies can invest in and produce renewable energy, which helps reduce the use of fossil fuels. For instance, solar and wind power are effective and environmentally friendly energy sources. If companies develop these technologies, they can make profits while improving environmental conditions. Furthermore, governments can introduce and enforce environmental protection laws. These laws encourage companies to reduce waste and develop new sustainable resources. In this way, a nation can maintain a clean environment while continuing to grow economically. In conclusion, while some people argue that economic success can harm the environment, I believe that a country can achieve both economic growth and environmental protection if it takes appropriate actions.