The development o f tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

English is quickly becoming the most valued global language for communicating and transacting. Some people project that at this rate, we will soon reach the age of monolingualism. Against this background, this essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such an eventuality. To begin with, having one language in the world can significantly reduce the challenges associated with settling in new countries, while simultaneously addressing societal marginalisation based on language. For immigrants, this means easier access to wideranging economic opportunities and social networks, which are usually tied to linguistic competence. For instance, Australia usually gives residency to people that are competent English users. These do not struggle to get jobs once they arrive in the country, because there is a common linguistic thread amongst all of them. On the other hand, it is important to consider some drawbacks, such as the reduction of linguistic diversity or polyvocality, as well as the loss of cultural identity for non- English speakers. These occur due to English becoming dominant at the expense of other languages and cultures, which are drastically depleting. To exemplify this, there is an outcry from the African continent, that without deliberate policies and strategies for conserving local languages, some of its 2000 traditional languages will be lost, since there is a huge outflow of Africans to the US and Britain, as well as an inflow of English influences coming from the media and technology. In conclusion, although English is clearly becoming prominent and potentially a sole language of the world, such an outcome can lead to significant advantages and challenges. Some of these have been fully explored above.