ome people believe that famous celebrities are poor role models for teenagers, while others think they can be a source of inspiration. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of celebrities as role models for young people.

Nowadays teenagers use social media almost every single day. On social media they see a lot of celebrities who are role models for young people. They often impact teenagers ’ mindset, ideas, personality or inspire them. So let’s look at the advantages and disadvantages of celebrities being role models for teenagers. Firstly, one of the main advantages is that celebrities can inspire young people. A lot of teenagers are sad and depressed. Role models can inspire and motivate them to start trying achieving their dreams and reaching success. For example, a celebrity posts a video that helps teenagers heal from depression and understand how to achieve something in life. Secondly, another important advantage is role models helping teenagers overcome difficulties and obstacles. Teenagers face a lot of obstacles and celebrities who are grown now, went through those obstacles and can help teens to face them. For instance, a role model posts a video where he talks about what mistakes he had done in his teen years so other teens watching won’t repeat them. However, there are some disadvantages. One of the main disadvantages of role models impacting young people is that they can make teenagers do bad things. Teenagers ' minds aren't fully developed so they often don’t think of the consequences of their actions. For instance, a famous person posts on social media to hate some person and just because he said so teenagers will hate that person without their own reason. Furthermore, the other really bad disadvantage is that following celebrities can cause phone addiction. Most celebrities post on social media and for teenagers to see their favourite celebrity they have to go on social media which. To illustrate, the celebrity posts long form videos on YouTube and for a teenager to watch that video he has to sit for an hour on his device which becomes an addiction. To conclude, famous celebrities can help teenagers overcome their problems like depression and choosing a path in life, but on the other hand they can manipulate young people into doing bad things. Also celebrities posting on social media increases teenagers screen time. In my opinion, teenagers should have some role models, but shouldn’t be blindly obsessed with them and their ideas