Some people believe that famous celebrities are poor role models for teenagers, while others think they can be a source of inspiration. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of celebrities as role models for young people

I’m going to discuss how some people believe that famous celebrities are poor role models for teenagers, while others think they can be a source of inspiration. There are definitely advantages and disadvantages and all of them have valid points. So, what are the advantages and disadvantages of having celebrities as role models? For the first disadvantage, I'd say that people are raising their standards way too high. Some people start hating their looks, because celebrities look way better in their opinion, even though most celebrities ' looks are actually fake. Others become disappointed in themselves, because they can’t succeed so fast as their role model, who for example became a millionaire at 18 years old. For the second disadvantage, I’d say it is that some celebrities definitely don’t make the best choices and teenagers start copying them. For instance, they start using drugs, drinking, becoming self-obsessed and self-interested. Those choices ruin teenagers’ lives and some even lose their bright future by getting in prison or getting a criminal record. Now for the first advantage, I think having a celebrity as a role model is a great idea, especially if you want to become an actor or actress, a film producer, or become some sort of celebrity yourself, because you can have their way as reference. For reference, if you want to become a singer and you love heavy metal music, you can choose a famous group that you like and try to follow their footsteps, create in a similar way but unique to you, try to progress similarly, etc. And for the second advantage, if a person is facing some sort of conundrum, if it’s possible, you can try to communicate with the role model and try to ask for their opinion. It may help you resolve the issue or just give you a boost of self-confidence and lighten your mood. Although there are some self-obsessed celebrities, but also there’s some who want to help others achieve their goals or help with issues. And for the third and last advantage, some celebrities are showing the right path, they show you that you need to be selfless and participate and donate to charities, help the weak and help save the planet. And to be honest, young people start doing the same, not all of them, but it still makes a difference. In conclusion, we should have celebrities as role models, but we should choose wisely, not all of them are a good choice. Celebrities as role models can help or harm your life, they might help you become more selfless, but some of them also can make you a more self-interested person. People should choose what they believe is right and they should do it and what is wrong and not to do it. But at the moment I see more advantages than disadvantages, so I’ll say it's a good idea, but if you see more disadvantages, in my opinion an alternative to celebrities should be your parents or someone you know and is close to you.