Many people believe that healthy eating and the importance of healthy food should be taught in schools. Others say that parents should teach their children about healthy food and diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion with relevant examples.

There is an ongoing debate about who is responsible for teaching healthy foods to children. While some people argue that schools are accountable to teach about healthy food habits, others claim that such knowledge should be provided by parents. In my opinion, I agree with the latter view because families hold the primary responsibility in bringing up their children. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion in detail with relevant examples. On the one hand, many people believe that educational institutions are responsible, and it is mainlydue to the fact that, such places provide an opportunity for children to learn good habits such as sharing, helping and respecting others. Similarly, they can educate them about eating healthy foods, which will increase their motivation when it is instructed by their favourite teachers. Moreover, children always actively engage if their fellow students follow the same eating patterns. As a result, they will learn to prioritise healthy food such as a substantial vegetarian meal over processed food, which will benefit their overall health and well-being. As an example, in western countries, students are encouraged to bring salads instead of sugary items or chips for lunch and whoever brings healthiest food are rewarded with gifts. Therefore, students are highly motivated to bring healthy foods to feel a sense of pride. On the other hand, some people claim that parents should educate their young ones on eating habits. This is due to the fact that parents hold the primary responsibility in maintaining the wellness of their young ones. In addition, they always know their children preferences better than a teacher, thereby it will not be challenging for them to change their food habits. Moreover, they can set themselves as role models, as much of learning during childhood occurs through observation and imitation of those adults at home.