An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why are more people choosing to have operation to change the way they look? Do you think this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, numerous individuals are starting to do aesthetic surgeries to change how they look. There are multiple reasons for this cause, and in this essay, I will discuss them and give my opinion. Unfortunately, people are starting to change their appearances in order to become more gorgeous and confident. One major cause of this is the bullying and harassment people receive; for example, influencers on social media tend to shift and perform surgeries on their faces due to the negative comments people write in their posts, and being exposed to harmful comments results in a lack of confidence. Secondly, many seek cosmetic clinics because they are afraid of ageing and having wrinkles, so they have procedures such as Botox and filler. Furthermore, it is clear that this trend is negative, and the reason why is that it encourages young generations, such as teenagers, to start to plan what surgeries they should do. Also, various surgeries have common risks to them, and some may be even threatening to life, such as blood clots. In addition, these procedures are expensive and pricey, and some of them need to be done regularly. Also, most of the time the results may not meet expectations, leading to more surgeries to fix the problems and scarring caused by the previous surgeries. To conclude, although this trend may be positive in some situations and help boost confidence, the disadvantages to it outweigh the benefits, so governments should spread awareness and warn the society about how dangerous these procedures and surgeries are.