Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

In the modern consumer-driven world, advertising has become an integral part of daily life. While some people argue that adverts often influence people to buy products that are not required, others claim that they provide more information about products, which helps us to stay more productive. In my opinion, I agree with the latter view, because it facilitates consumers to make informed decisions about the choices of products and services. This essay will explain both views and my opinion in detail. On the one hand, proponents argue that commercials often encourage excessive consumption. This is because, they promote their products using various marketing strategies to target their potential customers in order to sell their products. Consumers are highly influenced by such adverts, which motivates them to purchase because it gives them a sense of satisfaction. For example, a recent investigation on marketing promotions revealed that an average of 60% of customers prefer purchasing items if they are advertised by celebrities or influencers. Furthermore, some people consider such behaviour as a societal pressure, as they often associate corporate brands with status-based consumption. Therefore, they believe that constantly buying things are socially acceptable. On the other hand, advocates claim that such adverts facilitate informed decision-making. In other words, we are living in the world of consumerism where people have access to number of products and services, thereby people have enormous options to compare choices. In addition, a growing marketing competition also encourages companies to develop new products with improved quality. Therefore, such options drive consumers to compare the choices available in the market before purchasing them. For instance, even though there are a lot of television models currently available in the market, at least 60% of the population prefer buying Sony or Samsung TVs because they manufacture items with high quality standards. Hence, branding has significantly improved the decision-making skills of the public. To sum up, although critics argue that advertising encourages people to buy unwanted products, it is clear that such promotions also motivate them to make informed decisions on the available choices. After the thorough analysis, it is clear that adverts has enhanced customer preferences by evaluating the number of items availabe in the market, while preventing them falling for false alarms.